Up For A Bit With...

released January 2003

1. Ride
2. Up for a Bit
3. Crawl Babies
4. Address Book
5. I'm Alright With You
6. Hitchin' A'
7. Get 'Round Town
8. Automatically Yours
9. Baby Honey
10. If I Could Tell You

Classic post-Velvet Underground-style 1986 debut from the key Scottish indie band who have both influenced and collaborated with the likes of Bobby Gillespie (Primal Scream) and Norman Blake (Teenage Fanclub).

"The Pastels' heroic DIY debut. A forgotten classic." - Mojo

Although virtually unknown outside of indie-rock circles, the Pastels were one of the most inspirational and enduring groups of their era, spearheading a movement towards a renewed sense of wistful musical primitivism and willful naivete known variously as "shambling" and "anorak pop; " in addition, their influence helped bring international notice to a resurgent Scottish musical community, with frontman Stephen Pastel's legendary 53rd and 3rd label helping to launch the careers of bands including the Jesus & Mary Chain, the Shop Assistants, BMX Bandits, the Vaselines and the Soup Dragons. Formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 1982, the band initially comprised vocalist/guitarist Pastel (nee McRobbie), guitarist Brian Superstar (born Brian Taylor) and drummer Chris Gordon; they debuted that autumn on the Whaam label with the single 'Songs for Children', but Gordon soon exited, the first of many subsequent line-up shuffles.

Ambition was never the Pastels' strong suit, and luck was rarely on their side; as the group's members now including bassist Martin Hayward and drummer Bernice Simpson devoted their primary focus to their studies, new music appeared only sporadically and to little notice, on a seemingly random series of labels. After 1983's 'I Wonder Why' was released on Rough Trade, they moved to Creation, where they hit their stride with the 1984 drone-pop gems 'Something's Going On' and 'A Million Tears'. After one further single, 1985's 'I'm Alright With You', the Pastels split with Creation, moving to the tiny Glass label. In 1986, their track 'Breaking Lines' appeared on the influential C-86 collection assembled by the New Music. - AMG

Truckload Of Trouble 1986-1993

released January 2002

1. Thank You for Being You
2. Thru' Your Heart
3. Firebell Ringing
4. Kitted Out
5. Comin' Through
6. Over My Shoulder
7. Truck Train Tractor
8. Crawl Babies
9. Nothing to Be Done
10. Different Dream
11. Not Unloved
12. Baby Honey
13. Speeding Motorcycle
14. Speedway Star
15. What You Said
16. Dark Side of Your World
17. Sometimes I Think About You
18. Sign Across Me

Formed in Glasgow, The Pastels were hailed as "the sound of young Scotland" in 1986. Although virtually unknown outside of indie-rock circles, The Pastels were one of the most inspirational and enduring groups of their era. Singer Steven Pastel has both inspired and infuriated a generation (or two) with his shambolic but compelling brand of tune-riveted pop. The band have both influenced and collaborated with the likes of Bobby Gillespie, Norman Blake and Jad Fair.

Truckload Of Trouble is a brilliant directory of The Pastels from 1986-1993. This is as definitive a document as one will get, explaining just why The Pastels have influenced almost every jangly record to have come from these isles. Including the purely loveable indie hits 'Truck, Train, Tractor', 'Thru' Your Heart', 'Thank You For Being You' and a sparky cover of the Mike Nesmith penned 'Different Drum'.

Half A Cow
Half A Cow Records
PO Box 1100 STRAWBERRY HILLS NSW 2012 Australia
Email: haclabel@mpx.com.au
Phone: +61-2-9716 6926
ABN 93 300 971 980