released December 2006

1. Impossible
2. Icing On the Cake
3. Hold Hands With Politicians
4. Follow Me Upstairs
5. Change
6. Gone For Good
7. Wannabe

from HAC's Demo Of The Week:

A package arrived the other day from the US. There were a couple of cute doodles drawn on the cardboard like I usually get from Japan. And the sender's name: Stacy Michelson from Huntington Beach in California. Hey, I know her! I thought. Where from? Then I remembered. Stacy has been a fan of Half A Cow bands since the early '90s and also sent us a demo (on cassette! go tape!) back in 1995 of her band Daily. This time Stacy has sent a cd of her band she has with her brother Brad - the gorgeously named Artichoke Heart Soufflé.

Firstly, this isn't a demo. It's got a barcode. That's rule number one. Most bands' first couple of cds these days are put together so professionally (even mastered by Don at 301!) and sold at shows and into stores, that the word 'demo' can be totally wrong and hurtful even to the shiny disc. So, for this week, mentally change Demo Of The Week to CD Of The Week. Done? Okay, let's move on.

"The impossible is here, the impossible is now, the impossible is right before your eyes" rings the catchy opening track with enough 'da da da du da da du du da da's' to last you the entire camping trip weekend. The male and female vocals open the door and beckon you in for more. Brad and Stacy Michelson play all the music themselves with Brad handling the extra bass and drums.

There's not one dud track on Artichoke Heart Soufflé's debut release. All songs are extremely well-written, melodious, cute, sad, sexy, and catchy. Just what you want to hear to take your mind, heart and body away from this increasingly-fucked up world. Stacy's memorable 'Icing On The Cake' has this delicious coupling: "I wanna be with you in New York / and sleep with you in San Francisco / laugh with you in London / and be a wife in LA". Thinking this is the highlight of the song, it's followed second time around by an even more delectable chorus. What's that over-used cliché? a chorus to die for? when the "what do you say" bit comes in, well, it's to die for. Beautiful.

This cd has it all. Except punk rock. There's even what sounds like a political song and with a title called 'Hold Hands With Politicians' I'd be betting it is. Tax cuts. Tax cuts. Had this coming out of my mouth the last few weeks. Great guitar noodling throughout this record by Brad that is part Sterling Morrison and part Barry. Barry? Barry Melton. He of the Fish. The Fish? Country Joe and the Fish! Tax cuts. Tax cuts.

Next up is Stacy's 'Follow Me Upstairs'. A love song about a girl wanting more. "There's no one that's more right for me" The tone in 'right' is so cool, it has that little twist that makes you want to hear it over again.

On all tracks the vocal interplay and harmonies of Siblings Michelson are perfect. I could write about all the songs, even the adorable cover of the Spice Girls 'Wannabe' which closes the mini-album. It's yet another amazing pop record kindly sent across the seas to Half A Cow for our listening pleasure. Thanks Stacy. Thanks Brad.

Who You Know

released August 2009

1. Fell In Love At The P.O.
2. Don't Confuse This
3. Sunup To Sundown
4. Who You Know
5. Doctor
6. Another Cuppa Tea
7. Love Makes You Soft

It was bound to happen sooner or later. After playing in seperate bands for years, Los Angeles based brother and sister, Brad and Stacy Michelson recorded some demos together discovering THIS was the secret recipe for an Artichoke Heart Souffle.

Their first CD, self titled, in 2006 garnered attention from Los Angeles radio station KCRW and Australian record label Half A Cow. Fall 2008 sees the release of Artichoke Heart Souffle's second CD Who You Know. With the recording of this 7 song EP, Brad and Stacy expanded their sound beyond guitars, bass, and drums by bringing in instruments ranging from melodica, omnichord, and glockenspiel to old favorites like hand claps, finger snaps, and tons of harmonies.

Who You Know includes "Don't Confuse This" a track produced by Hunter Burgan (AFI, Tegan and Sara The Con). Burgan also contributed to the mixing of the record. Artichoke Heart Souffle proves to be more than just a tasty sounding dish - they are a band, an ongoing art project, a collaboration between two songwriters, and something you need to hear.

Who You Know CD booklet contains lyrics to all songs on the album as well as artwork that will leave you gasping for air.

*DISCLAIMER- Artichoke Heart Souffle is not responsible if you blow out your knee while trying to wildly dance along to every song on this album.

Half A Cow
Half A Cow Records
PO Box 1100 STRAWBERRY HILLS NSW 2012 Australia
Phone: +61-2-9716 6926
ABN 93 300 971 980