We’ve gone through the tapes and found pretty much everything that the Deezleteens recorded. “On The Road” was previously released on a seven inch in 2002 but these other three songs were left – unloved – in the drawer. Until now.

Jon Auer: drums on all tracks, lead guitar
Nic Dalton: bass on all tracks, lead vocals on “Ignore/Adore”, lead guitar & casio on “Indian Duck”
Ken Stringfellow: lead vocals “On The Road”, backing vocals on “Ya We are Cruel…”
Tom Morgan: guitar on all tracks, lead vocals on “Ya We Are Cruel…”

Engineered by Jon Auer at Damien Gerard, Pyrmont July 1996. Additional engineering in 2000 and all songs mixed by Russell Pilling Damien Gerard, Balmain July 2001. Mastered by Tim Kevin at Tempe River Studio March 2019.

“Ya We Are Cruel But We Have Our Agenda” written by T. Morgan. “On The Road” written by N. Dalton. “Indian Duck” and “Ignore/Adore” written by T. Morgan/N. Dalton/J. Auer

Deezleteens: On The Road/Star Sign (moo13) 7 inch only.

Limited and numbered to 500 copies.

Release date February 3rd, 2003.

Tom Morgan and Nic Dalton (from Sneeze) team up with Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow (from the Posies) on powerpop number ‘On The Road’, backed with a country-rock version (with strings and banjo!) of Teenage Fanclub’s ‘Starsign’ (with Bill Gibson on bass and vocals) plus cover of both sides of Replacement’s first single (done simultaneously!) which was previously released under the name Erbs & Pisces on the Replacements’ tribute album I’m In Love…With That Song.

The recording of ‘On The Road’ has been a long and interesting one. Recording started in July 1996 when The Posies were on tour in Australia with the Hoodoo Gurus, and the plan was to record a ‘late 70s powerpop’ single under the name Deezleteens. Jon Auer added drums, lead guitar and his very fine engineering skills to the two new tunes provided by Nic and Tom. Ken Stringfellow was having too much fun in Newtown’s Bermuda Triangle to make it to the session only to return four years later in 2000 (on a solo tour) to put down the all-important lead vocals.

By this stage the Posies had broken up and Ken was re-united by wonderul analogue technology with his former bandmate. The song was finally mixed in July 2001 and by this stage the Posies had reformed! The other song recorded, an early version of Smudge’s ‘Ya We Are Cruel’, remained unreleased until April 2019. This song, and “On The Road” are available on the Deezleteens Get Your Emotions EP (hac217).


Get Your Emotions EP

On The Road 7″

“It’s had more gestation time than a Boston album”